

POTTSTOWN SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING December 5, 2019

The Re-Organization Meeting for the Board of School Directors of the Pottstown School District was held on Thursday, December 5, 2019 at 7:00 PM in the Cafeteria of the Pottstown High School with President Mrs. Amy Francis presiding. Upon roll call, the following members were present: Mr. John Armato, Mrs. Bonita Barnhill, Ms. Katina Bearden, Mr. Kurt Heidel, Mr. Raymond Rose. Absent were Mr. Thomas Hylton, Mrs. Susan Lawrence, Mrs. Kimberly Stilwell. Also present were Superintendent, Mr. Stephen Rodriguez; Board Secretary, Mrs. Maureen Jampo; Director of Human Resources, Dr. Deena Cellini; Solicitor, Mr. Stephen Kalis; Student Representatives, Ms. Angelica Calel, Mr. David Livengood, a member of the press, and interested citizens.

Mr. Hylton entered the meeting at 7:04 pm.

MINUTES

Mrs. Jampo presented the minutes from the Regular Board meeting on November 17, 2019 for Board approval.

It was moved by Mr. Armato and seconded by Mrs. Barnhill that the minutes be approved as presented.

All members present voted aye. None opposed. Ayes: Seven. Nays: None. Absent: Two. Motion carried.

HEARINGS FROM THE PATRONS OF THE SCHOOLS

None.

ADJOURN SINE DIE

The Secretary adjourned the meeting sine die at 7:06 pm.

BOARD RE-ORGANIZATION

The Secretary proceeded to call roll of the hold over members. The following were present: Mr. Armato, Mrs. Barnhill, Mrs. Francis and Mr. Rose.

Notice of the Organization Meeting

Mrs. Jampo read the Notice of the Organization Meeting as advertised in the Pottstown Mercury.

Election of Temporary Chairperson

Mrs. Jampo called for the nomination of a Temporary Chairperson. Mr. Armato nominated Mrs. Barnhill.

There were no further nominations for a Temporary Chairperson. It was moved by Mr. Armato and seconded by Mr. Rose to close the nominations and appoint Mrs. Barnhill as Temporary Chairperson. All in favor. None opposed. Motion carried.

Mrs. Barnhill was elected as Temporary Chairperson.

Oath of Office: Board Members

Mrs. Barnhill reviewed the certificates of election and presented the newly elected Board Members to Judge Scott Palladino who administered the Oath of Office to Ms. Katina Bearden, Mr. Thomas Hylton, Mrs. Laura Johnson and Mr. Steve Kline. Absent was Mrs. Susan Lawrence. Certificates of elections will be filed in the Secretary's office as **Addendum #2019-2020-040**.

Roll Call

Mrs. Barnhill requested a roll call on the members now comprising the School Board.

Upon roll call the following members were present. Mr. Armato, Mrs. Barnhill, Ms. Bearden, Mrs. Francis, Mr. Hylton, Mrs. Johnson, Mr. Kline and Mr. Rose. Absent was Mrs. Lawrence.

Present: Eight. Absent: One. A quorum was present.

Election of President

The Temporary Chairperson called for nominations for President.

Mrs. Barnhill nominated Mrs. Francis.

There were no further nominations for the Office of President. It was moved by Mr. Armato and seconded by Mr. Rose to close the nominations and appoint Mrs. Francis as Board President. All in favor. None opposed. Ayes: Eight. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Mrs. Amy Francis was declared the newly elected President.

Election of Vice-President

Mrs. Francis called for nominations for Vice-President.

Mrs. Francis nominated Ms. Bearden.

There were no further nominations for the Office of Vice-President. It was moved by Mrs. Barnhill and seconded by Mr. Rose to close the nominations and appoint Ms. Bearden as Vice-President.

All members were in favor. None opposed. Ayes: Eight. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Ms. Katina Bearden was declared the newly elected Vice-President.

Parliamentarian Procedures

Appointment of Parliamentarian and Parliamentarian Procedures

It was moved by Mr. Armato and second by Mrs. Barnhill that the Board approve Mr. Kalis, Fox Rothschild LLP as the solicitor and approve Roberts Rules of Order and Parliamentary Procedure.

All members were in favor. Ayes: Eight. Nays: None. Absent: One. Motion carried.

Signature Stamp

The Board President requests a motion to authorize the use of the existing signature stamp, if applicable, until a new one is prepared reflecting the Board's new officers.

It was moved by Mr. Rose and seconded by Mrs. Barnhill to approve the motion to authorize the use of the existing signature stamp as presented.

Upon roll call vote, all members voted aye. Ayes: Eight. Nays: None. Absent: One. Motion carried.

Committee Appointments

<u>Standing Committees</u> assignment will to be determined at the January 2020 School Board Workshop. Mrs. Francis asked the board members to notify her of their interests in serving on the committees.

Adopt Time and Places for the 2020 Regular Board Meetings

Board members discussed schedule options for the 2020 board meetings. It was determined that a final calendar will be discussed at the January Board Workshop.

Board Member Contact Information for the Website

Mrs. Jampo asked each Board Member to submit their preferred contact information for publication on the district website.

INFORMATION

Act 55: New School Board Director Training: Mr. Rodriguez reviewed an outline presented to each Board Member explaining the options for training as required by the Pennsylvania Department of Education.

FEDERATION REMARKS

Mrs. Yoder thanked Mr. Heidel and Mrs. Stilwell for the years of service. She welcomed the new Board Member and looks forward to working together to fight for fair funding.

ROUND TABLE

Mr. Armato thanked the outgoing Board Members for their time and energy spent serving the community, students and staff. He looks forward to new board members energy and enthusiasm. He congratulated Mr. Rodriguez for spearheading today's press conference on cyber charter reform.

Mrs. Barnhill congratulated the new and reappointed Board Members and looks forward to working together.

Mrs. Johnson thanked the Board for the warm welcome. She thanked Mr. Heidel for his service and his continued service to the community. She appreciated hearing from the students that spoke at today's press conference.

Mr. Rodriguez congratulated the new Board Members and thanked Mrs. Stilwell and Mr. Heidel for their service. He thanked everyone for their support at today's press conference. It was a statewide event that received great media coverage. Mr. Rodriguez commended the Board for their smooth transition.

Mrs. Francis congratulated Mrs. Johnson and Mr. Kline on their election to the School Board. She thanked Mr. Heidel and Mrs. Stilwell for their service. She thanked everyone for participating in the press conference and fighting for fair funding.

ADJOURNMENT

It was moved by Mrs. Barnhill and seconded by Mr. Rose that the Board adjourns. None opposed. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 7:31 pm.