# POTTSTOWN SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING December 5, 2016

The Re-Organization Meeting for the Board of School Directors of the Pottstown School District was held on Monday, December 5, 2016 at 7:00 PM in the Cafeteria of the Pottstown High School with President Mrs. Kimberly Stilwell presiding. Upon roll call, the following members were present: Mrs. Amy Bathurst Francis, Mr. Kurt Heidel, Mr. Thomas Hylton, Mrs. Susan Lawrence, Mrs. Polly Weand, Mr. Emanuel Wilkerson and Mr. Ron Williams. Absent was Ms. Katina Bearden. Also present were Acting Superintendent, Mr. Stephen Rodriguez, Assistant Board Secretary, Mrs. Maureen Jampo; Director of Human Resources, Dr. Deena Cellini, Solicitor, Mr. Stephen Kalis; Mr. Ryan Oxenford, Mr. Joseph Schroeder, Mr. John Armato, a member of the press, and interested citizens.

## Ms. Bearden entered the meeting at 7:02 pm.

## Notice of the Organization Meeting

Mrs. Jampo read the Notice of the Organization Meeting as advertised in the local newspaper.

## **Election of Temporary Chairperson**

Mr. Kalis called for the nomination of a Temporary Chairperson. Mr. Wilkerson nominated Ms. Katina Bearden.

There were no further nominations for a Temporary Chairperson. It was moved by Mr. Williams and seconded by Mrs. Weand to close the nominations for Temporary Chairperson.

All members voted aye. None opposed: Motion carried.

Upon roll call, all members present voted aye to elect Ms. Bearden as Temporary Chairperson. Ayes: Nine. Nays: None. Motion carried.

## **Election of President**

Ms. Bearden called for nominations for President.

Mrs. Weand nominated Mr. Wilkerson. Mr. Wilkerson declined the nomination.

Mrs. Stilwell nominated Mrs. Francis

There were no further nominations for the Office of President. It was moved by Mr. Hylton and seconded by Mr. Heidel to close the nominations.

All members voted aye to close the nominations for the Office of President. None opposed. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote, all members present voted aye to elect Mrs. Francis as Board President. Ayes: Nine. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Mrs. Amy Bathurst Francis was declared the newly elected President.

## **Election of Vice-President**

Mrs. Francis called for nominations for Vice-President.

Mr. Williams nominated Mr. Wilkerson

Mrs. Francis nominated Mrs. Stilwell.

There were no further nominations for the Office of Vice-President. It was moved by Mr. Hylton and seconded by Mr. Heidel to close the nominations.

All members voted aye to close the nomination. None opposed. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote, each member named the nominee of his/her choice: Mrs. Stilwell: Stilwell, Mrs. Weand: Wilkerson, Mr. Wilkerson: Wilkerson, Mr. Williams: Wilkerson, Ms. Bearden: Wilkerson, Mrs. Francis: Stilwell, Mr. Heidel: Wilkerson, Mr. Hylton: Wilkerson, Mrs. Lawrence: Wilkerson. Wilkerson: Seven. Stilwell: Two.

Mr. Wilkerson was declared the Vice-President.

## Parliamentarian Procedures

Appointment of Parliamentarian/Approve Roberts Rules of Order and Parliamentary Procedure

It was moved by Mr. Heidel and second by Mr. Williams that the Board approve the solicitor as parliamentarian and approve Roberts Rules of Order and Parliamentary Procedure.

All members voted aye. None opposed. Motion carried.

## Signature Stamp

The Board President requests a motion to authorize the use of the existing signature stamp until a new one is prepared reflecting the Board's new officers.

It was moved by Mr. Williams and seconded by Mr. Wilkerson o approve the motion to authorize the use of the existing signature stamp until a new is prepared reflecting the Board's new officers.

Upon roll call vote, all members voted aye. Ayes: Nine. Nays: None. Motion carried.

#### **Committee Appointments**

<u>Standing Committees</u> (in accordance with Board Policy 005) to be determined at the January 2017 School Board Governance Workshop.

## Adopt Time And Places For The 2017 Regular Board Meetings

2017 Board Meeting Calendar will be discussed at the Board Workshop to be held in January.

## **ROUND TABLE**

Mr. Heidel – no comment.

Mrs. Weand - no comment.

Mr. Williams congratulated the new officers.

Mrs. Lawrence - no comment.

Mr. Hylton – no comment.

Ms. Bearden – no comment.

Mr. Wilkerson – no comment.

Mrs. Stilwell - no comment.

Mr. Rodriguez congratulated the newly elected officers. He looks forward to working together.

Mrs. Francis thanked everyone for coming out. She called for the meeting to adjourn.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

All members voted aye that the Board adjourns. None opposed. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 7:17 pm.

Maureen Jampo Assistant Board Secretary